Tampere University is the second largest university in Finland, established in the beginning of 2019 through the merger of Tampere University of Technology (TUT) and the University of Tampere (UTA). It is the majority shareholder of Tampere University of Applied Sciences (TAMK) and together the two institutions form a higher education community of 30,000 students, 330 professors and 4,400 other staff.